florida state seminoles

Six from Florida State Make All-ACC Academic Team

Monday June 29, 2015
Courtesy of TheACC.com

Miami’s David Thompson Named Scholar-Athlete of the Year

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Atlantic Coast Conference Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year David Thompson of Miami leads the sport’s All-ACC Academic Team, as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

One of five finalists for the 2015 Dick Howser Trophy, Thompson was voted to the All-ACC First Team following a stellar junior campaign in which he led the country in RBIs with 90 and tied for second with 19 home runs. One of only three players nationally to be named a unanimous First Team All-American, he led the Hurricanes to their first appearance in Omaha since 2008.

A junior third baseman from Miami, Florida, Thompson earned Dean’s List recognition during the spring semester and is working towards a Bachelor of Science in Education with a major in Sport Administration and a minor in Communications. He is the first Miami player to be named ACC Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Seventeen players were selected to the All-ACC Academic Team after previously being named to the All-ACC Team: Clemson’s Eli White, Steven Duggar, and Matthew Crownover, Duke’s Andy Perez, Florida State’s DJ Stewart, Louisville’s Kyle Funkhouser, Miami’s Thompson, Willie Abreu, Garrett Kennedy, and Bryan Garcia, NC State’s Preston Palmeiro and Andrew Knizner, Notre Dame’s Robert Youngdahl and Kyle Fiala, and Wake Forest’s Nate Mondou and Stuart Fairchild.

Five players – Crownover, Steward, Funkhouser, Thompson, and Mondou also collected All-America accolades. Georgia Tech’s Kel Johnson, Louisville’s Lincoln Henzman, NC State’s Brian Brown, and Notre Dame’s Sean Guenther were selected as Freshman All-Americans.

North Carolina’s Benton Moss earned his fourth career selection to the All-ACC Academic Team. Six other players were recognized for the third time.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award was established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete, regardless of classification, must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

2015 ACC Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year
David Thompson, Miami

2015 All-ACC Academic Baseball Team
John Gorman, Sr., Boston College (Marketing)
Eli White, So., Clemson (Financial Management)
Steven Duggar, Jr., Clemson *** (Parks, Recreation & Tourism Management)
Matthew Crownover, Jr., Clemson *** (Sports Communications)
Chase Pinder, Fr., Clemson *** (Sports Communications)
Andy Perez, Sr., Duke ** (Psychology)
Michael Rosenfeld, GS, Duke *** (Management Studies)
Peter Zyla, Fr., Duke (Undeclared)
Cristian Perez, So., Duke (Sociology)
Mitch Stallings, Fr., Duke (Undeclared)
DJ Stewart, Jr., Florida State (Sport Management)
Josh Delph, Sr., Florida State *** (Social Science)
Ben DeLuzio, So., Florida State ** (Exercise Science)
Christopher Marconcini, Sr., Florida State (Master’s- Marketing)
Michael Compton, R-Jr., Florida State *** (Social Science)
Bryant Holtmann, Sr., Florida State (Sport Management)
Kel Johnson, Fr., Georgia Tech (Biology)
Daniel Spingola, Sr., Georgia Tech ** (Industrial Engineering)
Jonathan King, R-So., Georgia Tech ** (Industrial Engineering)
Nick Solak, So., Louisville (Finance)
Devin Hairston, Fr., Louisville (Sports Administration)
Kyle Funkhouser, Jr., Louisville (Marketing)
Lincoln Henzman, Fr., Louisville (Sports Administration)
David Thompson, Jr., Miami (Sport Administration)
Willie Abreu, So., Miami (Sport Administration)
Garrett Kennedy, Sr., Miami (Legal Studies)
Bryan Garcia, So., Miami ** (Accounting)
Cooper Hammond, So., Miami (Human & Social Development)
Daniel Briggi, Sr., Miami (Economics)
Preston Palmeiro, So., NC State (Sport Management)
Andrew Knizner, So., NC State ** (Industrial Engineering)
Tommy DeJuneas, Fr., NC State (First Year College)
Brian Brown, Fr., NC State (First Year College)
Joe O’Donnell, So., NC State (Biological Sciences)
Benton Moss, Sr., North Carolina **** (Business Administration and Economics )
Robert Youngdahl, Jr., Notre Dame ** (Economics)
Kyle Fiala, So., Notre Dame (Finance)
Lane Richards, Jr., Notre Dame (Finance)
Ryan Bull, Sr., Notre Dame (Finance)
Brandon Bielak, Fr., Notre Dame (Undeclared)
Sean Guenther, Fr., Notre Dame (Undeclared)
Nick McCarty, Jr., Notre Dame (History)
Jacob Wright, R-So., Pitt (Biological Sciences)
Brandon Waddell, Jr., Virginia ** (Economics)
Thomas Woodruff, Sr., Virginia (Mechanical Engineering)
Erik Payne, Sr., Virginia Tech (Finance)
Jonathan Woodcock, Sr., Virginia Tech ** (Psychology)
Nate Mondou, So., Wake Forest ** (Business & Enterprise Management)
Stuart Fairchild, Fr., Wake Forest (Undeclared)
Kevin Conway, Jr., Wake Forest (Finance)
Parker Dunshee, So., Wake Forest ** (Finance)

Featured image courtesy of Michael Schwarz/Special to the Tallahassee Democrat