florida state seminoles

Florida State Selected as NCAA Regional Host

Sunday May 24, 2015
Courtesy of TheACC.com

Full tournament field to be announced Monday

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Three ACC teams – Florida State, Louisville, and Miami – will host regionals in the 69th annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, as announced Sunday evening by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records are as follows:

  • Baton Rouge, Louisiana – LSU (48-10)
  • Champaign, Illinois – Illinois (47-8-1)
  • College Station, Texas – Texas A&M (45-11)
  • Coral Gables, Florida – Miami (Fla.) (44-14)
  • Dallas, Texas – Dallas Baptist (43-13)
  • Fort Worth, Texas – TCU (43-11)
  • Fullerton, California – Cal State Fullerton (34-22)
  • Gainesville, Florida – Florida (*43-16)
  • Houston, Texas – Houston (42-18)
  • Lake Elsinore, California – UC Santa Barbara (40-15-1)
  • Los Angeles, California – UCLA (42-14)
  • Louisville, Kentucky – Louisville (43-16)
  • Nashville, Tennessee – Vanderbilt (*42-18)
  • Springfield, Missouri – Missouri State (45-10)
  • Stillwater, Oklahoma – Oklahoma State (37-18)
  • Tallahassee, Florida – Florida State (41-19)

By virtue of being awarded a regional, all 16 host institutions have also been selected to the 64-team championship field.

Each regional field features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, May 29 to Monday, June 1 (if necessary).

Florida State leads all 16 schools by being named to host for the 32nd time, while Miami ranks second with 26. Louisville will be hosting for the fifth time. All three programs also hosted in 2014.

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced at Noon ET on Monday, May 25. The one-hour program will be shown live on ESPNU. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men’s College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins.

Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on NCAA.com on Monday, June 1 at approximately 11 p.m. ET.